Logging Off

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Stuff

During the glory days, a dear friend shared with me the excellent tip that a good turd before bed will considerably reduce the next day’s hangover. It really works. We used to call it logging off.

The fat Doc now intends to log off from this blog. I am not going to have a massive metaphorical turd, but I am preparing to go to sleep for a while.

I left Gaza a month back. After the kidnapping and the hanging, it didn’t feel safe anymore. I hung around for another week, shuttling in taxis between my tiny apartment and my office, but that is no way for a man to live. So I quit my job and got back out via Rafah.

There is a lot of bullshit in the NGO world. People mean well, but there is little incentive to be efficient. In fact, the opposite is true. Many employees have an interest in making their jobs seem more difficult, more time consuming, and more deserving of continued funding than they necessarily are. If you are too efficient, you may be shooting yourself in the foot.

There is also a lot of bullshit in the mental health field. Many mental health concepts are nebulous anyway, and the majority of them are culturally loaded. To transfer these ideas from one culture to another is no easy task. Perhaps it is not even desirable.

So, when the world of NGOs and the mental health field meet, there is a bullshit interface. On top of the security situation, it was all too much for the fat Doc.

Sobriety has gone out the window, but I’m in a mood to celebrate the fact that I am alive and back in Europe and that summer is here. And a celebration without booze is a sad affair.

I may try sobriety again later in the year, in which case I will resurrect this blog. But for now I’m off to celebrate some more. I suggest you do the same.

Leave a Reply

